Logo Festival
photo
Official launch of the 2013 edition of the Festival - A 38th season presenting well-established musicians and rising performers

Lamèque, NB, May 17, 2013: The Lamèque International Baroque Music Festival officially launched the program of its 38th season this morning and unveiled the details of the three concerts that will be presented between July 25 – 27, 2013 at the Sainte-Cécile Church in Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île. 

“Baroque, still!” is this year’s theme and celebrates the festival’s longevity as well as the continued support of the community and the commitment of the festival organizers to pursue the baroque adventure in New Brunswick, despite recent challenges. According to the president of the Festival Board of Directors, Jean-René Noël, this 38th season will present well-established musicians as well as rising young performers of the Canadian baroque music scene. “We are happy to release the details of our program and we invite all music lovers to attend our concerts in great numbers” he stated. 

The opening concert of Thursday, July 25th, will be a historical event with the inauguration of a new harpsichord, especially built for the Festival and purchased thanks to the efforts of a group of dedicated volunteers, led by the founder of the Festival, Mathieu Duguay. Affectionately called the “Bach harpsichord”, this new instrument, built by Yves Beaupré, is copied after a 1719 German harpsichord played by Bach himself. Luc Beauséjour, renowned harpsichordist and long-time friend of the Festival, has been invited to showcase the beautiful sounds and the versatility of this harpsichord. “Without any doubts, this concert will be one of the highlights of this summer’s program” said Jean-René Noël. 

The concert of Friday, July 26th, will be dedicated to 18th century instrumental and vocal Italian music performed by Ensemble “Les Songes”. The group is comprised of young talented musicians, with harpsichordist Mélisande McNabney who was among the finalists of the Mathieu Duguay Ancient Music Competition in 2010. Entitled “Agitata!”, the colorful program will carry all those in attendance from stormy winds to gentle breezes with music by Vivaldi, Handel, Corelli and Scarlatti. 

To end the festival on a high note, the Mission Saint-Charles Choir, under the direction of Pierre Lavoie, will present a concert dedicated to sacred choral music on Saturday, July 27th. Entitled “Praise the Eternal!”, the program will feature some of the masterworks of the baroque era, including two motets by the great Johann Sebastian Bach. 

The launch of the 2013 edition took place at the Lamèque Town Hall. Details of all concert programs are available on the Festival Web Site at: www.festivalbaroque.com. Concert tickets are available for purchase. 

2017 Visual signature - Luc A. Charette
NEWS
A 42nd successful season for the Festival
The 42nd season of the Lamèque International Baroque Music Festival presented last July was very successful. This is what came out of the assessment of the festival's activities made by the Board of Directors during its general annual meeting that...

Read more ->
Facebook
twitterfacebook

Logo Festival
photo
Lancement officiel de la programmation 2013 - Une 38e édition qui mise sur la relève et des valeurs sures

Lamèque, N.-B., le vendredi 17 mai 2013 - Le Festival international de musique baroque de Lamèque a procédé aujourd’hui au lancement officiel de sa programmation 2013 en dévoilant les détails des trois concerts qui seront présentés du 25 au 27 juillet 2013 en l’église Sainte-Cécile de Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île. 

Le thème de cette année, « Toujours baroque ! », souligne la longévité du festival de même que l’appui indéfectible de la communauté et la ténacité des organisateurs de poursuivre l’aventure baroque en Acadie, et ce, malgré les embuches. Selon le président du conseil d’administration, Jean-René Noël, cette 38e édition mise sur de jeunes musiciens de la relève de même que sur des valeurs sures pour présenter trois concerts de haut calibre. « Nous sommes heureux de dévoiler notre programmation et invitons les gens à assister nombreux à la fête de la musique baroque ! » a-t-il indiqué. 

Le concert d’ouverture du jeudi 25 juillet sera historique puisque l’on procédera à l’inauguration d’un nouveau clavecin fabriqué spécialement pour le festival et acquis grâce aux efforts d’un groupe de personnes sous le leadership de Mathieu Duguay, fondateur du festival. Appelé affectueusement « clavecin Bach », le nouvel instrument a été fabriqué par Yves Beaupré d’après un clavecin allemand datant de 1719 et sur lequel Bach lui-même aurait joué. Le réputé claveciniste québécois et collaborateur de longue date du festival, Luc Beauséjour, a été invité afin de démontrer les merveilleuses sonorités et la versatilité de ce clavecin. « Ce concert sera sans aucun doute l’un des moments forts du programme de cet été » a déclaré Jean-René Noël. 

Le concert du vendredi 26 juillet sera consacré à la musique vocale et instrumentale italienne du XVIIIe siècle avec l’Ensemble « Les Songes », composé de jeunes musiciens et chanteurs de la relève, dont notamment la claveciniste Mélisande McNabney qui était au nombre des finalistes du Concours de musique ancienne Mathieu-Duguay en 2010. Intitulé « Agitata ! », la soirée transportera les auditeurs de la tempête à l’accalmie dans un programme haut en couleurs de musique de Vivaldi, Handel, Corelli et Scarlatti. 

Pour clore la 38e édition en beauté, le chœur La Mission Saint-Charles, sous la direction de Pierre Lavoie, présentera un concert entièrement consacré à la musique chorale sacrée le samedi 27 juillet. Intitulé « Louez l’Éternel ! », le programme de ce concert présentera quelques-uns des plus grands chefs d’œuvres du répertoire baroque, dont notamment deux motets du grand Jean-Sébastien Bach. 

Le lancement de la programmation a eu lieu à l’Hôtel de ville de Lamèque. Les détails de la programmation sont disponibles sur le site Web du festival au www.festivalbaroque.com Les billets sont présentement en vente. 

ACTUALITÉS
Soirée hommage à une grande dame

Lamèque, N.-B., le mardi 9 septembre 2014 : Le Festival international de musique baroque de Lamèque organise une soirée sous format de «

Lire la suite ->

Facebook
espace-mu
twitterfacebook