2019 PROGRAM

Mathieu Duguay Early Music Competition : Recitals by the finalists

Thursday, July 25, 2019, 2 p.m.
Notre-Dame-des-Flots Church, Lamèque
Locate on Google Map

 

Back for a fourth year, the Mathieu Duguay Early Music Competition aims to encourage young musicians and the development of new talent in the field of early music.  The competition gives music lovers the opportunity to discover the range of talent of the three finalists in two rounds. For this first round, finalists will present a short vocal or instrumental recital with basso continuo: a golden opportunity to discover young talent in an intimate setting.

The three finalists of the Mathieu Duguay Early Music Competition:
Duncan Campbell, trumpet (Canada)
Marie Nadeau-Tremblay, violin (Canada)
Jonathan Salamon
, harpsichord (United States)

Hank Knox, harpsichord
Amanda Keesmaat, cello

 


Vivaldi: the limits of virtuosity

Thursday, July 25, 2019, 7:30 p.m.
Sainte-Cécile Church, Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île
Locate on Google Map

 

Antonio Vivaldi had an important influence in the development of the solo concerto. He wrote a substantial number of violin concertos and concertos for wind instruments, including the recorder and the bassoon.  Known as “the Red Priest,” Vivaldi also composed operas and oratorios in which several very virtuosic arias were dedicated to the soprano voice.

The Mission Saint-Charles Orchestra and four remarkable soloists offer an impressive evening at the limit of virtuosity!

Samantha Louis-Jean, soprano
Vincent Lauzer, recorder
Mathieu Lussier, bassoon

Mission Saint-Charles Orchestra
Olivier Brault, violinist/leader

 


Secret Muses

Friday, July 26, 2019, 3 p.m.
Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue Church, Miscou
Locate on Google Map

Luzzascho Luzzaschi was the music director of the court of Duke Alfonso II in Ferrara, Italy at the end of the Renaissance. His compositions were performed at secret concerts to which only a select audience was invited. The "Concerto delle donne", a group of three professional singers, sang at the duke's court. Four musicians from the Montreal art scene pay tribute to these three exceptional singers, reviving their astonishing musical repertoire.

Works by Cavalli, Luzzaschi, Monteverdi, Strozzi and others

Marie Magistry, soprano
Dorothéa Ventura, soprano and harpsichord
Ghislaine Deschambault, mezzo-soprano
Sara Lackie, triple harp

 


Mathieu Duguay Early Music Competition : Final Round

Friday, July 26, 2019, 7:30 p.m.
Sainte-Cécile Church, Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île
Locate on Google Map

 

The second and final round of the Mathieu Duguay Early Music Competition features the three finalists who will showcase their talent and mastery with their interpretation of a concerto or vocal selection with baroque orchestra. They will be accompanied by the Mission Saint-Charles Orchestra, under the direction of Hank Knox. More than $6,000 in prizes will be awarded to the winners and the audience will have the chance to vote for their favorite finalist.

The three finalists of the Mathieu Duguay Early Music Competition:
Duncan Campbell, trumpet (Canada)
Marie Nadeau-Tremblay, violin (Canada) 
Jonathan Salamon, harpsichord (United States)

Mission Saint-Charles Orchestra
Hank Knox, harpsichord/leader

 


From Bach to Haydn: Carte blanche to Francesco Corti

Saturday, July 27, 2019, 11 a.m.
Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue Church, Miscou
Locate on Google Map

 

For this concert, Italian harpsichordist Francesco Corti presents a recital that will take us on a journey from the Baroque era to the Classical era, and from Bach to Haydn. This event will reveal the changes that were taking place in keyboard writing during the 18th century. On the program: works by J.S. Bach, C.P.E. Bach, G. Benda and J. Haydn. Winner of many awards at international competitions and one of the most prominent musicians on the European scene, Francesco Corti will dazzle us with his talent and mastery of his instrument.

Francesco Corti, harpsichord

 


Grandiose Telemann

Saturday, July 27, 2019, 7:30 p.m.
Sainte-Cécile Church, Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île
Locate on Google Map

 

The Mission Saint-Charles Choir and Orchestra join forces to pay tribute to the creative genius of Georg Philipp Telemann. The composer, arguably one of the most famous of the late Baroque, is also one of the most prolific, having composed nearly 6,000 works for all types of ensembles, including sacred works with Latin texts for very special occasions.

On the program: instrumental works by Johann Friedrich Fasch, a contemporary of Telemann, as well as psalms for chorus, soloists and orchestra in which Telemann explores French and Galant styles, demonstrating that he was both versatile and forward looking.

Samantha Louis-Jean: soprano
Marie Magistry: soprano
Nicholas Burns: countertenor
Jacques-Olivier Chartier: tenor
John Giffen: baritone
Clayton Kennedy: baritone

Mission Saint-Charles Orchestra
Mathieu Lussier: bassoon and conductor

Mission Saint-Charles Choir
Pierre Lavoie: choirmaster

PROGRAMMATION 2019

Concours de musique ancienne Mathieu-Duguay : Récitals des finalistes

Jeudi 25 juillet 2019, 14 h
Église Notre-Dame-des-Flots, Lamèque
Localiser sur Google Map

 

De retour pour une quatrième édition, le Concours de musique ancienne Mathieu-Duguay vise à encourager la relève et l’éclosion de nouveaux talents dans le domaine de la musique ancienne. Présenté en deux volets, il permettra aux mélomanes de découvrir diverses facettes du talent des trois finalistes.  Pour ce premier événement, chaque finaliste présentera un court récital pour instrument ou voix et basse continue : une occasion en or de découvrir de jeunes talents dans le cadre d’un concert intime.

Les trois finalistes du Concours de musique ancienne Mathieu-Duguay:
Duncan Campbell, trompette (Canada)
Marie Nadeau-Tremblay, violon (Canada)
Jonathan Salamon, clavecin (États-Unis)

Amanda Keesmaat : violoncelle
Hank Knox : clavecin

 


Vivaldi : aux limites de la virtuosité

Jeudi 25 juillet 2019, 19 h 30
Église Sainte-Cécile, Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île
Localiser sur Google Map

 

Antonio Vivaldi a eu une influence très importante dans le développement et le rayonnement du concerto de soliste. Il a écrit un nombre substantiel de concertos pour violon et en a également dédié aux vents, notamment à la flûte à bec et au basson. Celui qu’on surnommait le Prêtre roux a également composé bon nombre d’opéras et d’oratorios dans lesquels plusieurs airs très virtuoses ont été écrits pour la voix de soprano.

L’Orchestre de la Mission Saint-Charles et quatre solistes remarquables proposent une soirée aux limites de la virtuosité qui promet d’en mettre plein la vue!

Samantha Louis-Jean : soprano
Vincent Lauzer : flûte à bec
Mathieu Lussier : basson

Orchestre de la Mission Saint-Charles
Olivier Brault : violon et direction

 


Les Muses secrètes

Vendredi 26 juillet 2019 , 15 h
Église Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue, Miscou
Localiser sur Google Map

Luzzascho Luzzaschi était le directeur musical de la cour du duc Alfonso II à Ferrare en Italie à la fin de la Renaissance. Ses compositions étaient jouées lors de concerts privés et secrets auxquels seul un public restreint et choisi pouvait assister. Le « Concerto delle donne », un groupe de trois cantatrices professionnelles, chantait à la cour du duc. Quatre musiciennes de la scène artistique montréalaise rendent hommage à ces trois cantatrices d’exception, en faisant revivre leur étonnant répertoire musical.

Œuvres de Cavalli, Luzzaschi, Monteverdi, Strozzi et autres

Marie Magistry : soprano
Dorothéa Ventura : soprano et clavecin
Ghislaine Deschambault : mezzo-soprano
Sara Lackie : harpe triple

 


Concours de musique ancienne Mathieu-Duguay : Épreuve finale

Vendredi 26 juillet 2019, 19 h 30
Église Sainte-Cécile, Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île
Localiser sur Google Map

 

Ce concert met de l’avant les trois jeunes solistes ayant été sélectionnés à titre de finalistes du concours.  Ils feront valoir leurs talents en interprétant concertos et œuvres vocales avec orchestre baroque. Ils seront accompagnés par l’Orchestre de la Mission Saint-Charles, sous la direction de Hank Knox.  Lors de cette soirée qui clôturera le Concours, plusieurs prix seront offerts aux lauréats et le public présent aura la chance de voter pour son finaliste favori.

Les trois finalistes du Concours de musique ancienne Mathieu-Duguay:
Duncan Campbell, trompette (Canada)
Marie Nadeau-Tremblay, violon (Canada)
Jonathan Salamon, clavecin (États-Unis)

Orchestre de la Mission Saint-Charles
Hank Knox : clavecin et direction

 


De Bach à Haydn : Carte blanche à Francesco Corti

Samedi 27 juillet 2019, 11 h
Église Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue, Miscou
Localiser sur Google Map

 

Pour ce concert, le claveciniste italien Francesco Corti présente un récital nous faisant voyager de l’époque baroque au classicisme, de Bach à Haydn. Cet événement permettra de découvrir les changements qui s’opéraient dans l’écriture pour clavier au 18e siècle.  Au programme : des œuvres de J.S. Bach, C.P.E. Bach, G. Benda et J. Haydn. Lauréat de nombreux prix lors de concours internationaux et l’un des musiciens les plus en vue sur la scène européenne, Francesco Corti nous éblouira par son talent et la maîtrise de son instrument.

Francesco Corti : clavecin

 


Grandiose Telemann

Samedi 27 juillet 2019, 19 h 30
Église Sainte-Cécile, Petite-Rivière-de-l’Île
Localiser sur Google Map

 

Le Chœur et l’Orchestre de la Mission Saint-Charles s’unissent pour rendre hommage au génie créateur de Georg Philipp Telemann. Le compositeur, sans doute l’un des plus célèbres de la fin de l’époque baroque, a repoussé toutes les limites de la productivité, composant près de 6000 œuvres pour tout type de formation, dont quelques œuvres religieuses sur des textes en latin écrites pour des occasions bien spéciales.

Au programme : des œuvres instrumentales de Johann Friedrich Fasch, contemporain de Telemann, ainsi que des psaumes pour chœur, solistes et orchestres dans lesquels Telemann explore les styles français et galant, démontrant qu’il était un musicien ouvert sur le monde et bien avant-gardiste!

Samantha Louis-Jean : soprano
Marie Magistry : soprano
Nicholas Burns : contre-ténor
Jacques-Olivier Chartier : ténor
John Giffen : baryton
Clayton Kennedy : baryton

Orchestre de la Mission Saint-Charles
Mathieu Lussier : basson et direction

Chœur de la Mission Saint-Charles
Pierre Lavoie : chef de choeur